June 22, 2024

Select your Top Menu from wp menus


August 14th, 2009
Posted by Danny Ventura at 7:45 am

Hey folks, getting closer to the start of the high school football season. One thing we’ve received several e-mails on is the actual playoff format for 2009 and 2010, namely who is playing whom. Apparently, some incorrect information has surfaced regarding certainly schools and what division they are actually in.

We’ve checked with as many parties as possible and this looks like the way the format should be for the next two years. I know there were some problems namely with the MVC and which schools are in the Large and Small. Thanks to Central Catholic coach Chuck Adamopoulos, we think we have it figured out.

If any coach or school administrators sees something amiss down below, please don’t hesitate to e-mail me at dventura@boston herald.com. Also, we have a twitter account (www.twitter.com/BostonHeraldHS), so feel free to browse on in.

DIVISION 1 (MVC Large vs. GBL/Big Three vs. Catholic Conference)

MVC Large: Andover, Billerica, Central Catholic, Chelmsford, Lowell
GBL: Cambridge, Everett, Malden, Medford, Somerville
BIG THREE: Brockton, Durfee, New Bedford
CATHOLIC CONFERENCE: BC High, Catholic Memorial, Malden Catholic, St. John’s Prep, Xaverian

DIVISION 1A (DCL Large vs. NEC Large/OCL vs. Bay State Carey)

DCL LARGE: Acton-Boxboro, Boston Latin, Lincoln-Sudbury, Newton South, Waltham, Westford
NEC LARGE: Gloucester, Lynn Classical, Lynn English, Peabody, Revere, Salem
OCL: Attleboro, Barnstable, Bridgewater-Raynham, Dartmouth, Taunton
BSC CAREY: Braintree, Brookline, Framingham, Needham, Newton North, Weymouth

DIVISION 2 (MVC Small vs. Middlesex League/Hockomock vs. BSC Herget)

MVC SMALL: Dracut, Haverhill, Lawrence, Methuen, Tewksbury
MIDDLESEX LARGE: Belmont, Lexington, Reading, Winchester, Woburn
MIDDLESEX SMALL: Burlington, Melrose, Stoneham, Wakefield, Watertown
HOCKOMOCK LEAGUE: Canton, Foxboro, Franklin, King Philip, Mansfield, North Attleboro, Oliver Ames, Sharon, Stoughton
BSC HERGET: Dedham, Milton, Natick, Norwood, Walpole, Wellesley
NOTE: While the Middlesex League has split into large and small, it will only get one postseason berth and that will be awarded to the school with the best record in league play (all schools are playing a complete crossover schedule with the exception of Watertown). Since Watertown is playing as an independent for the time being, its games against ML opponents will be considered nonleague. Hope I did you proud with this explanation, Reading AD Phil Vaccaro. Fortunately, this computer comes equipped with an eraser if this isn’t 100 percent correct.

DIVISION 2A (Patriot Keenan vs. ACL/CAL Large vs. DCL Small)

DCL SMALL: Arlington, Bedford, Concord-Carlisle, Tyngsboro, Wayland, Weston
CAL LARGE: Masconomet, North Andover, Pentucket, Triton, Wilmington
PATRIOT KEENAN: Duxbury, Hingham, Quincy, Scituate, Silver Lake, Whitman-Hanson
ACL: Dennis-Yarmouth, Falmouth, Marshfield, Nauset, Plymouth North, Playmouth South, Sandwich
NOTE: While Newburyport is still in the CAL Small, it is playing all five of the CAL Large schools and those games will count as league games for the CAL Large. Those games against the CAL Large schools will be considered nonleague for Newburyport, who is playing the other six CAL Small schools.

DIVISION 3 (NEC Small vs. Patriot Fisher/EAC vs. South Coast Conference)

SCC: Apponequet, Bourne/UCT, Case, Dighton-Rehoboth, Fairhaven, GNB Voke, Old Rochester, Seekonk, Wareham
EAC: Bishop Feehan, Bishop Stang, Coyle-Cassidy, Martha’s Vineyard, Somerset
NEC SMALL: Beverly, Danvers, Marblehead, Saugus, Swampscott, Winthrop
PATRIOT FISHER: Hanover, Middleboro, North Quincy, Pembroke, Randolph, Rockland

DIVISION 3A (TVL vs. South Shore League/CAL Small vs. Catholic Central Large)

TVL: Ashland, Bellingham, Dover-Sherborn, Holliston, Hopkinton, Medfield, Medway, Millis, Norton, Westwood
SSL: Abington, Carver, Cohasset, East Bridgewater, Hull, Mashpee, Norwell
CAL Small: Amesbury, Georgetown, Hamilton-Wenham, Ipswich, Lynnfield, Newburyport, North Reading
CCL Large: Archbishop Williams, Arlington Catholic, Austin Prep, Bishop Fenwick, Cardinal Spellman, St. Mary’s

DIVISION 4 (Boston North, CAC Large, Mayflower Large)

MAYFLOWER LARGE: Bishop Connolly, Blue Hills, Bristol-Plymouth, Cape Cod/Harwich, South Shore Voke, Southeastern
BOSTON NORTH: Boston English, Charlestown, East Boston, Maidson Park, South Boston, West Roxbury
CAC LARGE: Greater Lawrence, Greater Lowell, Lynn Tech, Manchester Essex, Shawsheen, Whittier
NOTE: This is not a misprint, there are only three leagues in Division 4, therefore one league will get a bye into the Super Bowl. As soon as we find out, we’ll put it in.

DIVISION 4A (Boston South vs. Mayflower Small/CAC Small vs. CCL Small)

BOSTON SOUTH: Brighton, Burke, Dorchester, Hyde Park, Latin Academy, O’Bryant
MAYFLOWER SMALL: Diman, Holbrook/Avon, Nantucket, Old Colony, Tri-County, West Bridgewater
CCL SMALL: Cathedral, Lowell Catholic, Marian, Matignon, Pope John, St. Clement, Trinity Catholic
CAC SMALL: Chelsea, Minuteman, Mystic Valley, North Shore, Northeast

About The Author

Related posts